Victoria Hall, a three-storey masterpiece on Cobourg’s main street, commands attention, being more reminiscent of a grand European town hall than those typically found in Ontario towns. This important building was officially opened in 1860 by Edward, the future King of England (then Prince of Wales), when he presided over a Grand Ball and midnight supper.
The imposing entrance portico has four Corinthian columns, Greco-Roman roofed porch, and speaker's balcony. The building is faced on three sides with buff Cleveland sandstone and is elaborately decorated with symbols of the British Isles: lyres, dolphins, shells, a bearded head and other intricate examples of the stone-cutter's art. The symmetry of the building is emphasized by its 96 large multi-paned windows. A a glance toward the roof reveals the splendid crown-topped cupola with its weather-vane and four crested clock-faces.
Inside, the grand design continues. Architect Tully designed an E-shaped building to accommodate a variety of services. The foyer, the deep-well courtroom, the two grand staircases and the Concert Hall are the most impressive areas.
The top floor houses the Art Gallery of Northumberland which has changing exhibits showcasing the work of local artists.